What I Learned from Charlie Brown

Good Ol’ Charlie Brown

afraid to be happy

That’s it, isn’t it? We are almost afraid to be happy.  I can relate to Charlie Brown. I am usually a very optimistic person, but I have my down days. Those are the days I complain about getting the short stick… you know, your order is forgotten at the coffee shop, traffic is a beast, and you have to do the menial task at work. Then you have to fill up your gas hog of a vehicle and nearly cry as gas prices go up, and you despair of trying to make things go according to plan.

In a Blink of an Eye…

I miss it. The blessings, the little things, the beauty of creation, my funny family. I’m so deep in my personal problems, failed plans, and self-pity that my focus is off of what will bring joy… namely, Jesus. Happiness is fleeting, but joy from God, deep in our hearts, is unconditional. When we view the challenges as opportunities to grow a stronger character, learn, and become better followers of Christ, they are worth it. And God equips us to overcome adversity to bring Him glory! What a joy it is to know God is always with us, guiding us, and loving us despite our failures.

simple life

Try it Out

I challenge you to write down 3 things every day that you are thankful for. Start small, like being thankful for the new pencil someone gave you, a smile from a stranger, and your car started (that may be a big one ;)). Let me know how this changes your outlook on life! No matter who you are, you have been given things to be thankful for.

In Christ,

Ariel

Pictures compliments of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

