Why Me?

Age Old Question

We have all asked the question “Why me?”. Why did a loved one have to die, why do we struggle with our health, why is our job so hard… the list goes on.

I had a “Why me?” moment the other day. I realized it doesn’t really matter what the issue was, the actual problem was that I was frustrated that God would continue to allow some things to happen in my life, things I am so tired of. It just didn’t seem fair.

Where did our definition of “fair” come from? From comparing our lives to others we deem more ideal? Maybe we think we deserve better…

If Life Were Fair…

If life were fair, I wouldn’t be here.  Fair would be me paying for my own sins; I would deserve the suffering I’m feeling. Our loving God did not settle for being “fair” as far as we are concerned. God decided to show the ultimate love toward us, by sending His very son to die for our sins. And then His Son conquered death and sin by rising from the grave! Now, if we put our faith in Jesus as our Savior, our souls get to live forever with Him when our bodies pass away.

Even Jesus had a “Why me?” moment:

“He went on a little farther and bowed with his face to the ground, praying, “My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.”
Now that is a real reason to ask,”Why me?”, but Jesus decided that God’s will was more important than His… so Jesus willingly laid down His life, so that we may gain ours. He trusted that God was in control, that everything that would happen would bring glory to God, and that His sacrifice would pave the way for us sinners to be reconciled to our God.

Hope for the Future

I will praise God, for He has been so gracious to me! He has given me the gift of eternal life through His Son, love that never fails, and purpose. Will my current trial be resolved? I hope so. But either way, I am trusting God to give me the perseverance, joy, and hope I need to be an over-comer… and to live my life for His glory.
3 thoughts on “Why Me?

  1. So many why me moments of late….far too many! You are right, if life were even the slightest bit fair, there wouldn’t be a me! Such an important thing to remember. There is a certain wonder, though, in one of the why mes. Sometimes I just ponder the, “Why did you choose me, God?”

    And that is a very wacky, wonderful, and crazy thought. When we give up on the idea that life is fair and begin to fathom how UNFAIR it is, things get a whole lot cooler. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true. I am so glad that we do not get what we really deserve. Jesus paid the price for me that I can be part of His Awesome family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

