A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

Thanks Snoopy

We all have things to be thankful for.

Since I’m a curious person, I have to ask… do you thank anyone? If a stranger opens the door for you, if you get the job you’ve been hoping for, or get a new car, or even if you got green lights on the way to your friend’s house, do you stop to give thanks? Do you desire to express gratitude somehow?

I often hear people complain. I try to counter their complaint by putting a positive spin on it. For example, if you come to me upset because you had an awful drive in to work, I will say at least it wasn’t in a blizzard (unless it was… then I will join you in your misery ;)! Either way, you got here safely, so all is well.

Blind to the Blessings

How recently have you talked to someone who refused to be positive? Not just a glass half empty, but bone dry? To hear them talk, you’d think that their lives are miserable… but most of the time, it’s actually their attitude and focus that keeps them from seeing the blessings all around them.

It’s Your Choice

When we choose to focus on all the things that are going wrong (aka not going according to plan), of course we’ll be miserable. Whatever you allow to dwell in your heart will grow. This can cause you to be joyful and thankful, or bitter and selfish. Why not try replacing negative thoughts with positive ones? Not only will this make you a more positive person, but it will encourage the people around you.

Now is a perfect time to reflect on all your blessings! A thankful heart is a happy heart. Think I’m wrong? Try it and find out ;).

I always love making lists of blessings. It always returns my focus to the One who gave me this life, and the people and blessings that make it beautiful.

Here’s my list:

1. Thanksgiving with friends and family

2. A new job

3. A reliable car

4. Sunny days that melt the blues away

5. God’s grace

There are many more that I haven’t listed! Whenever I start to feel down, I add to the list.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

