The Art of Authenticity

au·then·tic

adjective

: real or genuine : not copied or false

: true and accurate

: made to be or look just like an original

The world is full of people trying to be someone they are not. Trying to force themselves into a mold that people around them have designed for them. Caving to what the media says is true.

But who are you, really? What makes you, you? Are you the outgoing, social, upbeat one in the group? Or are you quiet and reflective? I’m a mixture of both; I love being outgoing, but I’m still an introvert because I need alone time regularly.

A friend told me the other day that I’m very genuine. I’m not worried about what others think of me, for the most part. I like being myself, and I have nothing to hide. I love Jesus, and am not afraid to live it out. I don’t apologize for being me, though I am quick to apologize when I’ve hurt someone.

Authenticity is an art form; completely unique to you. There is only one of you, you are God’s original masterpiece. When you have a child, he or she may look just like you, but you quickly realize they have a mind all their own. Their own personality and qualities shape their outlook.

We change over time. We become more knowledgeable, more experienced, and more unique. Our experiences and upbringing shape how we see the world around us.

Don’t try to shove yourself into a mold made for someone else. Ask God what qualities He wants to grow in you, and try not to be surprised when He sends challenges your way. When you seek God in and through the challenges, He will develop your character… and your authentic self will become one that pleases God, loves others, and is filled with the Holy Spirit.

Be real. Be genuine. Be you.

Definition from:

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/authentic

2 thoughts on “The Art of Authenticity

Leave a Reply

